Rysaer’s Monday Musing – Fatigue and Digital Punchbags

Howdy folks, fresh from a 12 hour night shift I’m here with another lazily written Monday musing.

As I mentioned some weeks ago, I started a ‘Don’t break the chain calendar’ and so far its been going really well, I’ve not had an actual break yet which is fantastic for me as that’s almost a month now, but I have however found balancing time and fatigue to be a real issue lately, as mentioned I’m in a very heavy period of overtime at work which has thrown me a bit out of whack in terms of time and energy for the various projects I’ve been taking part in or trying to finish.

meme-generator-fry-face-172

My Templars for example, I’ve finished the Storm Talon and I’m currently working on a unit of Sword Brethren in the gaps between work and sleep, I’m also trying to squeeze in time to see family and friends, carry on my regular RP (Roleplaying) sessions, still trying to learn how to use my new camera as well as all my various doodling and writing projects I have lurking in the background. The project I’d hoped to have done for the Black Library submission period is still needing a lot of love and work to get it to a stage where I’d even let anyone proof-read it, let alone submit it anywhere. (even though it is well beyond the date to hand it in.)

As I mentioned in those previous posts, sometimes you will have to make sacrifices here and there, but for now I’m hanging on in there but my main point for today is to not let things bog you down too much, we all have a lot on our plates in life when it boils right down to it and getting worked up or overly stressed on these matters won’t help. It especially won’t help any project you are trying to complete, getting frustrated or annoyed will only lead to you doing sloppier work, rushing or simply discarding it.

The important thing I’ve found that has really helped me is simply taking breaks, even relatively short ones, if you feel yourself getting stressed or agitated, simply take 5 minutes to cool off, find something fun or distracting to do or even just take those few minutes to catch your breath. You’d be amazed what a difference this can make. At the end of the day (with a few exceptions) your time is completely your own, how you use it and what you feel it is worth using it on is decided by you and completely by you, so taking a 5 minute break is hardly earth-shattering, most of the time, it’s necessary.

Pause.0031

Also don’t forget what is important to you, and don’t let others discourage or distract you too much from that task. As an example I’ve had one or two people ask me about things I’ve been working on, pieces of writing, drawings and the like, asking why I’m wasting my time on them if I’m not going to use them or show them off, or even if I’m just doing them for fun, why is something I don’t need worth that time?

It’s worth it, because I feel it is, it’s important to me because it’s an hour or so of the day where I truly get to do what I want, to be myself, and to do what I enjoy and feel is a worthwhile use of my time. It doesn’t matter what anyone else thinks, every human has the right to decide what they think is a worthwhile use of their time, and no one can judge you for it.

I can’t count the amount of times I used to hear about ‘Wasting my time with Video Games when you could be doing something meaningful’ and while in some cases (like studying for school etc) I can see the valid point in that argument, as someone who has spent the majority of his life playing video games I probably have wasted some time here and there where I could be doing something more important, but at that time, those games felt important to me, I needed to play them because I needed that time to myself or with friends.

Taking breaks now are important too because in the long run it’ll save you a lot of hassle, overworking yourself or running yourself into the ground will inevitably make things harder in the near future. So find something to do for 5 minutes every once in a while, or longer if you need it. You’ll feel better for it and your work will be all the better for it also. I personally have found great solace in Hyrule Warriors lately, it’s a fantastic game but it’s also a great stress reliever, as is Super Smash Bros, these games are relatively quick and simple, the fact that they are fighting games also really help vent out any frustration, it’s like a digital punching bag, which in this day and age is becoming more and more relevant.

2itrmt5

We live in an age where most of our lives are spent online and while that has done fantastic things for social networking, media, culture and everything else, it also has a damaging effect, negativity is a huge issue on the net and most places where you can submit work or even things for fun can be met with some very harsh scrutiny, if you don’t believe me, check out any YouTube videos comment section….. ever. You’ll soon see what I mean, but the best thing you can do is take anything critical you can from those points and move on, worst case scenario, if you get that horrible agitated feeling then rush to your closest digital punching bag and let it have it.

At the end of the day, it’s only NPC’s who will suffer and thankfully until Skynet happens we don’t really have to worry too much about them striking back anytime soon. Unless it’s Master + Crazy Hand / Master Core on Level 9.0……. they make me wonder if Skynet isn’t already running sometimes.

379962

So hopefully this article was your break…. and now it’s time to get back to work feeling refreshed and awesome….. failing that angry that this musing is probably a bit half arsed and a great excuse to talk about how little time I have these days 😛

Leave a Reply

